Published on:

San Diego Under Age Youth Sentenced for DUI Injury Accident

A San Diego teenager was sentenced after he admitted to driving under the influence and causing an injury accident. (This is a follow-up to the story originally posted on November 17th.)

According to the Union Tribune, the seventeen year old was sentenced to the maximum penalty allowed under state law, 480 days in custody in the San Diego County’s Youthful Offender Unit. Once released, the juvenile will be placed on probation.

This teen’s blood alcohol content (BAC) was .21. Under California Vehicle Code (VC) Section 23136, “[I]t is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 years who has a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.01 percent or greater, as measured by a preliminary alcohol screening test or other chemical test, to drive a vehicle.”

VC Section 23136 does not preclude prosecution under California Vehicle Code Section 23153, which makes it “unlawful for any person, while under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle and concurrently do any act forbidden by law, or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver.”


If you are charged with DUI in San Diego County and you are not sure what to do next, never plead guilty until you talk to The Law Offices of Susan L. Hartman. For a free, confidential case evaluation, use the “Contact Us” form on this page or call 619-260-1122 today.