Published on:

Under-Age Drinking And Driving Rates Fall

spilled beer.jpgDrunk driving rates of U.S. high school students have drastically fallen over the past 20 years, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, (CDC). In a report that was released this week, the CDC claimed it analyzed data from 1991-2011. The data was collected from self-reporting, voluntary, and anonymous surveys in 41 states. The teens were asked in a questionnaire if they drove a motor vehicle one or more times after consuming an alcoholic beverage within 30 days before taking the survey.

The survey found that in 1991, 22.3% of teens aged 16 years or older admitted to driving after drinking alcohol, while only 10.3% admitted to this behavior in 2011. The results in the reporting states varied. There was a higher rate in the Gulf Coast region but some states such as Utah were much lower (4.6%). No data was available for California.

The study did not report how many students were driving in 1991 versus 2011. With the fall in the economy, higher gas prices, and higher unemployment rates among teens, it can be assumed that the amount of teenage high school students that are driving at all is less than in 1991. In addition, the survey only asked students if they had been drinking and driving within the month prior to taking the survey. Considering these shortfalls, the reported drinking and driving rates may be very low.

Over the years, Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) have been lobbying states for zero-tolerance laws. California has complied. This means if you are under the age of 21, it is unlawful to drive a motor vehicle in California with a measurable amount of alcohol in your blood. In addition, you must submit to a preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) test. The DMV will suspend your driver’s license for one year for the first offense of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above a .01%.

The above blog article is by no means all-inclusive and is not legal advice. For information about a specific case, speak to a drunk driving attorney in your area.


If you or someone you know is under 21 and has been charged with DUI, seek to hire a DUI defense attorney who exclusively deals with drunk driving matters. The Law Offices of Susan L. Hartman works to minimize the negative consequences of a DUI arrest. Call 619-260-1122 today or fill out the “Contact Us” form on this page for a free telephone consultation.