On May 18th, Walsh was drinking beer at a friend’s home when he decided to drive to get some food. Allegedly, he was driving 50 mph in a 25 mph zone when his car hit a sport utility vehicle and rolled four times. His two passengers were injured along with the driver of the SUV. He was subsequently charged with one count of DUI causing injury and one count of driving with measurable blood alcohol causing injury.
Members of the community showed up at the arraignment and wrote letters in support Walsh. He was allowed to remain free on his own recognizance and was ordered to appear at the preliminary hearing which is scheduled for August 24th.
Walsh’s blood alcohol content, or BAC, was a .19. The legal limit is .08 percent for drivers over the age of 21. Since he was only 18 at the time of the incident, he could also be charged with:
1. California Vehicle Code section 23136, the Zero Tolerance Law, a civil offense that is handled through the DMV;
2. California Vehicle Code section 23140, under 21 with a BAC of .05 – .07 percent, an infraction;
3. California Vehicle Code section 23152, driving under the influence, a misdemeanor.
If you have been arrested and/or charged with drunk driving in San Diego, you need to hire an exclusively DUI defense firm that will aggressively defend your case. For a free, confidential consultation, contact The Law Offices of Susan L. Hartman today at 619-260-1122 or use the “Contact Us” form on this page.